CAAP-GÎM
Our assistance makes a difference!

WHY AND HOW TO FILE A COMPLAINT?

 

You can file a complaint if you are dissatisfied with the services, if you believe that you have been treated incorrectly or if an institution within the Health and Social Services network has violated your rights as a user.

 

You can file your complaint with the Complaint Examination System in the Health and Social Services and be assisted by the person of your choice and by the experienced personnel at the CAAP-GÎM.

 

There are various reasons for filing a complaint. The following list provides some examples:

 

  • Problems concerning accessibility and continuity of services

    Delays, refusal of service, transportation, premature discharge, lack of follow-up, inappropriate guidance, inadequate services, instability of the personnel, lack of services or programs, linguistic accessibility, choice of a professional or institution

  • Problems pertaining to the “scientific” aspects of the care and services provided

    Technical and professional abilities, professional assessment and judgment, approach, contention, medication, isolation, physical care, medical assistance, inappropriate procedures, malfunctioning.

  • Interpersonal relationships

    Respect; lack of empathy; intimacy; absence of a personalized, confidential and safe relationship; inability to keep and to increase autonomy; communication within the surroundings; violence or abuse.

  • Problems concerning material resources and facilities

    Food (quality, quantity, variety); the diversity of the clientele; hygiene and healthiness; cleanliness of the premises; spatial organization (signs, adaptation of the premises, distribution of rooms); comfort and convenience (choice of rooms, décor, layout, personal services, telephone, quality of the air, noise); activities and day-to-day life; rules and procedures; safety and protection (for individuals and for personal belongings); equipment and facilities (quality, availability, mechanical breakdowns).

  • Financial aspects

    Hospital account; ambulance account; lodging expenses; allowance for personal expenses; allowance to cover certain services or to participate in certain programs; contribution to residential placement; fees related to certain goods and services (television, hairdresser, laundry, telephone); medication fees; claims for loss or theft; parking fees; financial and material assistance.

  • Rights of Users

    • the right to information about the services and resources in regard to Health and Social Services that are available within the community, as well as how to access those services and resources;

    • the right to receive, with continuity and in a personalized and safe manner, health services and social services which are scientifically, humanly and socially appropriate, in respect to the resources that are available;

    • the right to choose the professional or the institution who will provide the services, taking into account the organization of the services and resources that are available at that institution;

    • the right to be informed about your state of health and welfare, the possible options given your state of health, the risks and consequences associated with each option before you give your consent;

    • the right to consent or to refuse care;

    • the right to participate in all decisions concerning your situation;

    • the right to receive appropriate care in an emergency;

    • the right to be accompanied or assisted by a person of your choice either when you wish to obtain information about the services that are offered or in the course of a complaint process;

    • the right to have access to your user file;

    • the right to English language services for English-speaking individuals, providing that access to these programs are available within the region;

    • the right to recourse on the grounds of professional or other misconduct.

 

Other laws that have a bearing on the Complaint Review System include the Act respecting pre-hospital emergency services, the Civil Code, the Youth Protection Act, and the Act respecting the Protection of persons whose mental state presents a danger to themselves or to others.

 

Complaint examination process Health and Social Services (PDF)

CAAP-GÎM
Notre assistance fait la différence!

POURQUOI ET COMMENT PORTER PLAINTE?

 

Vous pouvez déposer une plainte si vous êtes insatisfait des services, croyez avoir été traité incorrectement ou si une instance du réseau de la santé et des services sociaux a brimé les droits qui vous sont reconnus à titre d’usager.

 

Vous pouvez porter plainte auprès des acteurs du régime d’examen des plaintes de la santé et des services sociaux et être assisté par la personne de votre choix et par le personnel expérimenté du CAAP-GÎM.

 

Les motifs pour lesquels vous pouvez porter plainte sont divers. En voici quelques exemples :

 

  • Problèmes affectant l’accessibilité et la continuité des services

    Délais, refus de services, transport, congé prématuré, manque de suivi, orientation inappropriée, insuffisance des services, instabilité du personnel, absence de service ou de programme, accessibilité linguistique, choix du professionnel ou de l’établissement.

  • Problèmes reliés aux aspects « scientifiques » des soins et des services dispensés

    Habiletés techniques et professionnelles, évaluation et jugement professionnel, approche, contention, médication, isolement, soins physiques, soins d’assistance, procédure inadéquate, dysfonctionnement.

  • Problèmes d’ordre relationnel

    Respect de la personne, manque d’empathie, intimité, absence d’une relation personnalisée, confidentielle et sécuritaire, incapacité de maintenir et d’accroître l’autonomie de la personne, communication avec l’entourage, violence et abus.

  • Problèmes affectant les ressources matérielles et l’environnement

    Alimentation (qualité, quantité, variété), mixité des clientèles, hygiène et salubrité, propreté des lieux, organisation spatiale (signalisation, adaptation des lieux, répartition des chambres), confort et commodité (choix des chambres, décoration, aménagement, services personnels, téléphone, qualité de l’air, tranquillité), activités et vie quotidienne, règles et procédures, sécurité et protection (pour les personnes et les biens personnels), équipement et matériel (qualité, disponibilité, bris mécanique).

  • Aspects financiers

    Compte d’hôpital, compte d’ambulance, frais d’hébergement, allocation pour dépenses personnelles, allocation pour l’obtention de certains services ou pour la participation à un programme, contribution au placement, frais reliés à certains biens et services (télévision, coiffeur, lavage, téléphone), frais de médicaments, réclamation pour perte ou vol, frais de stationnement, aide matérielle et financière.

  • Droits particuliers

    droit à l’information sur les services et les ressources disponibles dans son milieu en matière de santé et de services sociaux, ainsi que sur les modalités d’accès à ces services et à ces ressources;

    droit aux services de santé et aux services sociaux adéquats sur les plans à la fois scientifique, humain et social, avec continuité et de façon personnalisée et sécuritaire, et ce, en respect des ressources disponibles;

    droit de choisir le professionnel ou l’établissement qui vous dispensera les services, tout en tenant compte de l'organisation des services de l'établissement et de la disponibilité des ressources;

    droit d’être informé sur votre état de santé et de bien-être, sur les options possibles compte tenu de votre état et sur les risques et les conséquences associés à chacune des options avant de consentir aux soins;

    droit de consentir aux soins ou de les refuser;

    droit de participer à toute décision qui concerne votre situation;

    droit de recevoir des soins appropriés en cas d'urgence;

    droit d’être accompagné ou assisté d’une personne de votre choix lorsque vous désirez obtenir de l'information sur les services offerts ou au cours d'une démarche de plainte;

    droit d’accès à votre dossier d’usager;

    droit à des services en langue anglaise pour les personnes d'expression anglaise, dans la mesure où le prévoit le programme d'accès à ces services établi pour la région;

    droit d’exercer un recours en raison d’une faute professionnelle ou autre.

 

D’autres lois sont significatives pour les acteurs du régime d’examen des plaintes, il s’agit de la Loi sur les services préhospitaliers d’urgence, du Code civil, de la Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse, de la Loi sur la protection des personnes dont l’état mental présente des dangers pour elles-mêmes ou pour autrui.

 

Tableau du régime d’examen des plaintes (en PDF)